What Does it Mean to Revoke a Certificate?
Tell us what you think!
Looking for Product Support?
A certificate holder may request that his/her certificate is revoked or deleted.
A revoked certificate is canceled permanently and will no longer be able to be re-keyed, renewed or reissued.
If you are moving your SSL certificate to a new server, if your server has crashed or if you have lost your private key, you will want to re-key your SSL certificate not revoke it. Two free re-key credits are available to you within the first 30 days of purchase. If you need an additional re-key credit after that time, please contact customer service for an additional free re-key credit.
A revoked certificate is instantly rendered invalid. Consider revoking your certificate if any of the following situations occur:
- The SSL certificate contains incorrect information.
- The SSL certificate is no longer needed.
- You can not access your SSL account to manage your SSL certificate.
- The wrong type of SSL was purchased .
NOTE: If you are moving your SSL certificate to a new server, if your server has crashed, or if you have lost your private key, you will want to re-key your SSL certificate not revoke it.
Partial refunds for revoked SSL certificates are available within the first 30 days of purchase. If this is done more than 30 days from issuance, you will not be eligible to receive a refund. Once a certificate has been issued, any refund is less an administration fee for the resources and support required for the issuance process. If you have questions about our refund policies on revoked SSL certificates, contact our billing department for assistance.